ABC Motsepe League

The ABC Motsepe League is the highest ranked football league of the South African Football Association (SAFA).


The Motsepe Foundation has been sponsoring the league from the 2013/2014 season. This sponsorship is part of the Foundation’s contribution to the development of football in the country.


The Foundation contributes R9 million annually towards the ABC Motsepe League. A total of goes towards prize money and the remainder is used to run the League.



There are 144 community clubs that participate in the programme annually. These comprise of 16 clubs from each of the nine provinces. Each club is required to register a minimum of 25 players, and this impacts more than 3 600 aspiring soccer players in various communities. Regular provincial visits and close monitoring of the league is necessary to encourage clubs and support structures at lower levels.

The champions from each province participate at the national finals. The national champions and the runner-up club are promoted to the National Soccer League’s National First Division.


Currently all but three of the clubs promoted from the ABC Motsepe League since its inception are still participating in the National Soccer Leagues.

The ABC Motsepe

League in Pictures