Kay Motsepe Schools and Netball Cup

Kay Motsepe Schools
and Netball Cup

[hcode_blockquote hcode_border_position=”border-left” hcode_border_type=”solid” hcode_blockquote_color=”#0c0c0c” hcode_border_color=”#69c8ca” hcode_border_size=”10px” hcode_responsive_font=”font_lg:25px|line_lg:35px” hcode_responsive_font_content=”font_lg:25px|line_lg:35px”]

The Kay Motsepe Schools Cup comprises netball and Football tournaments. The Cups were initiated by Mr Patrice Motsepe in memory of his mother, in recognition of the integral role she played in his life; encouraging him through school and university, and supporting him through the good and the dark times.



Sponsored by the Motsepe Foundation and Sanlam, the Kay Motsepe Schools Football Cup was launched in 2004 to public, private and independent high schools. In 2017 a total of 3 442 schools registered and participated in the Kay Motsepe Schools Cup throughout the country. Each province was represented by two teams at the National Championships. The competition carries a prize of R1 000 000 for the winning school team, as well as R600 000, R500 000 and R400 000 for the second, third and fourth schools respectively.

  • 2nd position: R600 000 Guzana H School from KwaZulu Natal (first time participating school)
  • 3rd position: R500 000 Haggai H School from Limpopo
  • 4th position: R400 000 Beaufort West H School from the Western CapeThe prize money is used in school- related development projects, such as the improvement of physical infrastructure of schools, office blocks, libraries, classrooms, ablution facilities and sporting facilities.
[hcode_blockquote blockquote_icon=”1″ hcode_blockquote_bg_color=”#67c8ca” hcode_blockquote_color=”#ffffff”]They also provide a platform for young and upcoming artists from disadvantaged communities to share the limelight with national performers.[/hcode_blockquote]


Participating Provinces include: The Eastern Cape (East London), KwaZulu-Natal (Durban), Limpopo (Polokwane) and Gauteng (Tshwane).

Promoting sports for girls is aligned with one of the Foundation’s broader goals: to advance gender equality and women empowerment. In partnership with the Department Basic Education, the Kay Motsepe Schools Netball Cup provides an opportunity for girls under 15 to participate in a competitive sport.

Young girls in South Africa are often faced with many challenges that deter them from advancing and seizing opportunities. Sport is one way to provide them with much-needed space, support and security. However, generally, female sport does not receive much attention from the private sector as a development and health issue. The Kay Motsepe Schools Netball Cup helps fill this gap.

The Motsepe Foundation has committed R2 million per year for the next 10 years, beginning in 2016, for the development of netball in schools.

Three top winning teams from the national tournament competition qualify to participate in the under-15 international netball tournament in Singapore. Of the three teams that went to Singapore, one came from a disadvantaged community.

The exposure and experience of this team in an international setting has generated a lot of interest in netball, and has inspired the girls and others to work harder.

All performing artists are paid for by the Motsepe Foundation. Some of these artists include Big Nuz, Mafikizolo, Cassper Nyovest, AKA, Kwesta, Emtee, Babes Wodumo, DJ Zinhle, DJ Tira, DJ Sphe and Naves.

[hcode_blockquote blockquote_icon=”1″ hcode_border_position=”border-left” hcode_border_type=”solid” hcode_blockquote_bg_color=”#67c8ca” hcode_blockquote_color=”#ffffff” hcode_border_color=”#ffffff” hcode_border_size=”4px” hcode_responsive_font_content=”font_lg:17px|line_lg:30px”]

Since inception in 2016, a total of six teams have been sponsored by Motsepe Foundation to participate in the International Netball Schools Tournament in Singapore. These include the Afrikaanse Hoër Meisie Skool (Affies) (Gauteng), Nhlanhlayethu Secondary (KwaZulu-Natal), Shayamoya High School (KwaZulu-Natal), Paarl High School (Western Cape) and Morwathebe Primary School (Limpopo).